- The Potomac Company - Mergers & Acquisitions, Valuations and Corporate Development - http://www.potomaccompany.com -

Orkin Acquires Three New Pest Control Companies Across U.S.

Posted By Potomac Company On January 10, 2007 @ 10:48 pm In Press Center | No Comments

ATLANTA, Jan. 10, 2007 – Orkin Inc., the 106-year-old pest control company, has acquired the assets of three companies: Jim Batchelor Termite and Pest Control Inc. in San Luis Obispo, Calif.; JRG Exterminators Inc. in Millstone Township, N.J.; and Jeepers Creepers Pest Control in Morgan City, La. The purchases were finalized on Nov. 7, Dec. 1 and Dec. 1, respectively.

Jim Batchelor Termite and Pest Control, founded in 1974 by Jim Batchelor in San Luis Obispo, Ca., will give Orkin a presence between Los Angeles and San Francisco. JRG Exterminators, formerly owned by Mark and Harlene Goldberg, will continue to operate as JRG, using the same trucks, signage and logos from central to southern New Jersey, and as far north as Newark. Jeepers Creepers Pest Control, founded in 1981 by Gerald and Patricia Hotard, will become part of Orkin’s Houma, La., branch.

“Each of these companies will be a great asset to Orkin. We look forward to growing into these major markets and welcoming our new employees,” said Bob Hines, director of acquisitions for Orkin.

Jim Batchelor Termite and Pest Control has grown steadily since inception in the 1970s to 10 fulltime employees, and its services include residential and commercial pest control, termite control and pigeon control. The company utilizes a unique toxin-free pigeon trapping and feeding system that has proven to be very successful in the California coastal area.

JRG Exterminators, Inc., has grown to a company of 30 employees since its founding in 1990 and has the unique distinction of retaining every employee that has ever worked for the company. General Manager Hank Thoms and Sales Vice President Glen Zuhl will remain as part of the management team. Although the company performs residential, commercial, termite and wildlife control, they have established a loyal niche market in New Jersey retirement community homeowner associations.

Jeepers Creepers Pest Control has four and half pest control routes, and the company’s four technicians will join Orkin’s Houma branch.

“These are companies where both employees and customers have had long tenures, which is a major consideration for our acquisition decisions,” said Hines. “All three of these organizations have been able to create and maintain the loyalty that we value in both our employees and customers.”

Interested in learning more about valuation and mergers & acquisitions in the pest control industry? The Potomac Pest Control Weekly is written the most prominent business appraiser and mergers & acquisitions specialists in the pest control industry and is packed with tutorials, case studies, and interviews with industry insiders. Subscribe to Potomac Company commentary and research on the Pest Control Industry today by completing the form below.


Name:
Email:
Company:
State:
Phone Number:


Related Reading:
[1] Buying a Pest Control Business
[2] Rentokil / Ehrlich Acquires Mountain Pest Control
[3] Selling Without Selling Out: An Interview with Waud Capital Partners
[4] Sunair Services and George Costanza: Negotiating Hard for Less Money
[5] Orkin Acquires Precision Pest Control and Bob’s Termite and Pest Services
[6] Massey Withdraws Offer to Acquire Sunair Services
[7] Massey Acquires Sunair… We’ll Know by Monday
[8] Orkin Acquires Crane Pest Control
[9] Terminix Acquires 19 Pest Control Companies in First Six Months of 2008
[10] Ehrlich/Rentokil Acquires Shamrock Pest Management
[11] Orkin Announces Acquisition of Five Pest Control Companies
[12] The Orkin / HomeTeam Deal: A Closer Look at the Numbers
[13] Rollins Acquires HomeTeam Pest Defense for $137 Million
[14] The Rollins / HomeTeam Purchase Agreement
[15] Copesan Announces the Addition of Two New Partners
[16] Copesan Initiates Disengagement With J.C. Ehrlich/Rentokil and Presto-X
[17] Potomac Announces Acquisition of Brazilian Pest Control Company
[18] Losing $75K in 7 Seconds: Purchase Price Allocation 101
[19] The Texas Pest Control Association Announced 2008 Election Results
[20] Killing You Softly, Part 1 – Your Pricing
[21] ISS Expanding Into Pest Control in Mexico
[22] Paul Giannamore to Address the Texas Pest Control Association Convention
[23] Sunair: Exterminating Value?
[24] Extortion at Closing
[25] Pest Control Acquisitions and Business Valuation for Pest Control Companies: Potomac Introduces the Potomac Pest Control Weekly
[26] Orkin Acquires General Pest Control
[27] Paul Giannamore to Speak at PCT M&A Seminar
[28] Orkin / Western Acquires JRG Pest Control
[29] Consolidation Continues in the Pest Control Industry
[30] Kotler Pest & Termite Control Acquired by Terminix
[31] Wind Point Partners Provides Acquisition Capital to Wilson Pest Control


Article printed from The Potomac Company - Mergers & Acquisitions, Valuations and Corporate Development: http://www.potomaccompany.com

URL to article: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/01/10/orkin-acquires-three-new-pest-control-companies-across-us/

URLs in this post:
[1] Buying a Pest Control Business: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2010/08/13/buying-a-pest-control-business/
[2] Rentokil / Ehrlich Acquires Mountain Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2010/02/01/rentokil-ehrlich-acquires-mountain-pest-control/
[3] Selling Without Selling Out: An Interview with Waud Capital Partners: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/10/25/selling-without-selling-out-an-interview-with-waud-capital-
partners/

[4] Sunair Services and George Costanza: Negotiating Hard for Less Money: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/10/12/sunair-services-and-george-constanza-negotiating-hard-for-l
ess-money/

[5] Orkin Acquires Precision Pest Control and Bob’s Termite and Pest Services: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/02/04/orkin-acquires-precision-pest-control-and-bob%E2%80%99s-ter
mite-and-pest-services/

[6] Massey Withdraws Offer to Acquire Sunair Services: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/01/27/massey-withdraws-offer-to-acquire-sunair-services/
[7] Massey Acquires Sunair… We’ll Know by Monday: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/01/21/massey-acquires-sunair-well-know-by-monday/
[8] Orkin Acquires Crane Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/01/06/orkin-acquires-crane-pest-control/
[9] Terminix Acquires 19 Pest Control Companies in First Six Months of 2008: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/12/01/terminix-acquires-19-pest-control-companies-in-first-six-mo
nths-of-2008/

[10] Ehrlich/Rentokil Acquires Shamrock Pest Management: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/08/09/ehrlichrentokil-acquires-shamrock-pest-management/
[11] Orkin Announces Acquisition of Five Pest Control Companies: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/05/13/orkin-announces-acquisition-of-five-pest-control-companies/
[12] The Orkin / HomeTeam Deal: A Closer Look at the Numbers: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/04/22/the-orkin-hometeam-deal-a-closer-look-at-the-numbers/
[13] Rollins Acquires HomeTeam Pest Defense for $137 Million: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/03/31/rollins-acquires-hometeam-pest-defense-for-137-million/
[14] The Rollins / HomeTeam Purchase Agreement: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/04/16/the-rollins-hometeam-purchase-agreement/
[15] Copesan Announces the Addition of Two New Partners: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/03/27/copesan-announces-the-addition-of-two-new-partners/
[16] Copesan Initiates Disengagement With J.C. Ehrlich/Rentokil and Presto-X: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/01/15/copesan-initiates-disengagement-with-jc-ehrlichrentokil-and
-presto-x/

[17] Potomac Announces Acquisition of Brazilian Pest Control Company: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/12/11/potomac-announces-acquisition-of-brazilian-pest-control-com
pany/

[18] Losing $75K in 7 Seconds: Purchase Price Allocation 101: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/19/losing-75k-in-7-seconds-purchase-price-allocation-101/
[19] The Texas Pest Control Association Announced 2008 Election Results: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/19/the-texas-pest-control-association-announced-2008-election-
results/

[20] Killing You Softly, Part 1 – Your Pricing: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/15/killing-you-softly-part-1-%E2%80%93-your-pricing/
[21] ISS Expanding Into Pest Control in Mexico: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/11/iss-expanding-into-pest-control-in-mexico/
[22] Paul Giannamore to Address the Texas Pest Control Association Convention: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/09/paul-giannamore-to-address-the-texas-pest-control-associati
on-convention/

[23] Sunair: Exterminating Value?: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/10/18/sunair-exterminating-value/
[24] Extortion at Closing: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/10/16/extortion-at-closing/
[25] Pest Control Acquisitions and Business Valuation for Pest Control Companies: Potomac Introduces the Potomac Pest Control Weekly: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/05/07/potomac-introduces-the-potomac-pest-control-weekly/
[26] Orkin Acquires General Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/02/01/orkin-acquires-general-pest-control/
[27] Paul Giannamore to Speak at PCT M&A Seminar: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2006/12/06/managing-director-paul-giannamore-to-speak-at-pct-ma-semina
r/

[28] Orkin / Western Acquires JRG Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2006/12/01/orkin-western-acquires-jrg-pest-control/
[29] Consolidation Continues in the Pest Control Industry: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2006/04/02/consolidation-continues-in-the-pest-control-industry/
[30] Kotler Pest & Termite Control Acquired by Terminix: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2004/10/16/kotler-pest-termite-control-acquired-by-terminix/
[31] Wind Point Partners Provides Acquisition Capital to Wilson Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/1998/07/28/wind-point-partners-provides-acquisition-capital-to-wilson-
pest-control/

Copyright © 2007 The Potomac Company. All rights reserved.