- The Potomac Company - Mergers & Acquisitions, Valuations and Corporate Development - http://www.potomaccompany.com -

Orkin Acquires General Pest Control

Posted By Potomac Company On February 1, 2007 @ 6:37 am In Pest Control, Press Center | No Comments

Southwest U.S. Expansion a Priority for Orkin

ATLANTA, Feb. 1, 2007 – Orkin Inc., the 106-year-old pest control company, has acquired the assets of General Pest Control Company, Inc., headquartered in Durango, Colo. The purchase was finalized on Jan. 3.

General Pest Control Company, Inc. is a 25-year-old, family-run business consisting of five well-established pest control routes in the southwest corner of Colorado (including Durango, Cortez and Pagosa Springs) and the northwest corner of New Mexico (into Farmington). Orkin will reassign five additional routes from its own Grand Junction and Albuquerque branches to the Durango branch, creating a 10-route branch.

“The leadership of General Pest Control placed great emphasis on training and experience over the years – two qualities Orkin values most. The company will be a great asset to Orkin, and we look forward to continued rapid growth into the Southwest market with this acquisition and merger,” said Bob Hines, director of acquisitions for Orkin.

All of General Pest Control, Inc.’s employees, many of whom have considerable tenure, will continue with Orkin. Former General Pest owner, Dwayne Howell, will remain as Durango branch manager and report to Ben Bradham, assistant manager for the Colorado region. Bradham will continue to report to Southwest region manager Steve Breitweiser.

Interested in learning more about valuation and mergers & acquisitions in the pest control industry? The Potomac Pest Control Weekly is written the most prominent business appraiser and mergers & acquisitions specialists in the pest control industry and is packed with tutorials, case studies, and interviews with industry insiders. Subscribe to Potomac Company commentary and research on the Pest Control Industry today by completing the form below.


Name:
Email:
Company:
State:
Phone Number:


Related Reading:
[1] Buying a Pest Control Business
[2] Rentokil / Ehrlich Acquires Mountain Pest Control
[3] Selling Without Selling Out: An Interview with Waud Capital Partners
[4] Sunair Services and George Costanza: Negotiating Hard for Less Money
[5] Orkin Acquires Precision Pest Control and Bob’s Termite and Pest Services
[6] Massey Withdraws Offer to Acquire Sunair Services
[7] Massey Acquires Sunair… We’ll Know by Monday
[8] Orkin Acquires Crane Pest Control
[9] Terminix Acquires 19 Pest Control Companies in First Six Months of 2008
[10] Ehrlich/Rentokil Acquires Shamrock Pest Management
[11] Orkin Announces Acquisition of Five Pest Control Companies
[12] The Orkin / HomeTeam Deal: A Closer Look at the Numbers
[13] Rollins Acquires HomeTeam Pest Defense for $137 Million
[14] The Rollins / HomeTeam Purchase Agreement
[15] Copesan Announces the Addition of Two New Partners
[16] Copesan Initiates Disengagement With J.C. Ehrlich/Rentokil and Presto-X
[17] Potomac Announces Acquisition of Brazilian Pest Control Company
[18] Losing $75K in 7 Seconds: Purchase Price Allocation 101
[19] The Texas Pest Control Association Announced 2008 Election Results
[20] Killing You Softly, Part 1 – Your Pricing
[21] ISS Expanding Into Pest Control in Mexico
[22] Paul Giannamore to Address the Texas Pest Control Association Convention
[23] Sunair: Exterminating Value?
[24] Extortion at Closing
[25] Pest Control Acquisitions and Business Valuation for Pest Control Companies: Potomac Introduces the Potomac Pest Control Weekly
[26] Orkin Acquires Three New Pest Control Companies Across U.S.
[27] Paul Giannamore to Speak at PCT M&A Seminar
[28] Orkin / Western Acquires JRG Pest Control
[29] Consolidation Continues in the Pest Control Industry
[30] Kotler Pest & Termite Control Acquired by Terminix
[31] Wind Point Partners Provides Acquisition Capital to Wilson Pest Control


Article printed from The Potomac Company - Mergers & Acquisitions, Valuations and Corporate Development: http://www.potomaccompany.com

URL to article: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/02/01/orkin-acquires-general-pest-control/

URLs in this post:
[1] Buying a Pest Control Business: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2010/08/13/buying-a-pest-control-business/
[2] Rentokil / Ehrlich Acquires Mountain Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2010/02/01/rentokil-ehrlich-acquires-mountain-pest-control/
[3] Selling Without Selling Out: An Interview with Waud Capital Partners: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/10/25/selling-without-selling-out-an-interview-with-waud-capital-
partners/

[4] Sunair Services and George Costanza: Negotiating Hard for Less Money: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/10/12/sunair-services-and-george-constanza-negotiating-hard-for-l
ess-money/

[5] Orkin Acquires Precision Pest Control and Bob’s Termite and Pest Services: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/02/04/orkin-acquires-precision-pest-control-and-bob%E2%80%99s-ter
mite-and-pest-services/

[6] Massey Withdraws Offer to Acquire Sunair Services: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/01/27/massey-withdraws-offer-to-acquire-sunair-services/
[7] Massey Acquires Sunair… We’ll Know by Monday: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/01/21/massey-acquires-sunair-well-know-by-monday/
[8] Orkin Acquires Crane Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2009/01/06/orkin-acquires-crane-pest-control/
[9] Terminix Acquires 19 Pest Control Companies in First Six Months of 2008: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/12/01/terminix-acquires-19-pest-control-companies-in-first-six-mo
nths-of-2008/

[10] Ehrlich/Rentokil Acquires Shamrock Pest Management: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/08/09/ehrlichrentokil-acquires-shamrock-pest-management/
[11] Orkin Announces Acquisition of Five Pest Control Companies: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/05/13/orkin-announces-acquisition-of-five-pest-control-companies/
[12] The Orkin / HomeTeam Deal: A Closer Look at the Numbers: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/04/22/the-orkin-hometeam-deal-a-closer-look-at-the-numbers/
[13] Rollins Acquires HomeTeam Pest Defense for $137 Million: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/03/31/rollins-acquires-hometeam-pest-defense-for-137-million/
[14] The Rollins / HomeTeam Purchase Agreement: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/04/16/the-rollins-hometeam-purchase-agreement/
[15] Copesan Announces the Addition of Two New Partners: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/03/27/copesan-announces-the-addition-of-two-new-partners/
[16] Copesan Initiates Disengagement With J.C. Ehrlich/Rentokil and Presto-X: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2008/01/15/copesan-initiates-disengagement-with-jc-ehrlichrentokil-and
-presto-x/

[17] Potomac Announces Acquisition of Brazilian Pest Control Company: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/12/11/potomac-announces-acquisition-of-brazilian-pest-control-com
pany/

[18] Losing $75K in 7 Seconds: Purchase Price Allocation 101: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/19/losing-75k-in-7-seconds-purchase-price-allocation-101/
[19] The Texas Pest Control Association Announced 2008 Election Results: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/19/the-texas-pest-control-association-announced-2008-election-
results/

[20] Killing You Softly, Part 1 – Your Pricing: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/15/killing-you-softly-part-1-%E2%80%93-your-pricing/
[21] ISS Expanding Into Pest Control in Mexico: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/11/iss-expanding-into-pest-control-in-mexico/
[22] Paul Giannamore to Address the Texas Pest Control Association Convention: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/11/09/paul-giannamore-to-address-the-texas-pest-control-associati
on-convention/

[23] Sunair: Exterminating Value?: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/10/18/sunair-exterminating-value/
[24] Extortion at Closing: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/10/16/extortion-at-closing/
[25] Pest Control Acquisitions and Business Valuation for Pest Control Companies: Potomac Introduces the Potomac Pest Control Weekly: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/05/07/potomac-introduces-the-potomac-pest-control-weekly/
[26] Orkin Acquires Three New Pest Control Companies Across U.S.: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2007/01/10/orkin-acquires-three-new-pest-control-companies-across-us/
[27] Paul Giannamore to Speak at PCT M&A Seminar: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2006/12/06/managing-director-paul-giannamore-to-speak-at-pct-ma-semina
r/

[28] Orkin / Western Acquires JRG Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2006/12/01/orkin-western-acquires-jrg-pest-control/
[29] Consolidation Continues in the Pest Control Industry: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2006/04/02/consolidation-continues-in-the-pest-control-industry/
[30] Kotler Pest & Termite Control Acquired by Terminix: http://www.potomaccompany.com/2004/10/16/kotler-pest-termite-control-acquired-by-terminix/
[31] Wind Point Partners Provides Acquisition Capital to Wilson Pest Control: http://www.potomaccompany.com/1998/07/28/wind-point-partners-provides-acquisition-capital-to-wilson-
pest-control/

Copyright © 2007 The Potomac Company. All rights reserved.